10 October, 2016 10 October, 2016

The 2016 Billabong SA Jnr Champions

The 2016 Billabong SA Juniors Champs has come to an end. New champions have been crowned, voices have grown hoarse from cheering and the JBay beaches have returned to normal – albeit the new collection of footprints. The juniors were spoiled by the consistent surf and were sure to treat the spectators to some juicy surfing all week. The level of surfing in South Africa is looking lekker!

“Phenomenal conditions and, in my humble opinion, this event had the best junior surfing standard I’ve ever seen at an SA Champs,” said experienced contest director Johno Hutchison of Ballito.

‘The 2016 Billabong SA Junior Champs presented by BOS, the 20th edition of the country’s premier surfing contest for competitors aged 17 and younger, will be remembered by all who attended for the five days of epic waves at the Lower Point in Jeffreys Bay and the stellar performances by the country’s top young surfers.’

Full press release and results below:


Clean lines on day 5. © Ian Thurtell

Nelson Mandela Bay clinched the coveted Freedom Cup for the team accumulating the highest points at the 2016 Billabong SA Junior Champs presented by BOS, which was completed in good one metre waves at the Lower Point in Jeffreys Bay on Sunday the 9th October.

The team from the host district also claimed two of the six individual national titles at stake and provided five of the 24 finalists, earning a total of 28,440 points. Defending team champions Cape Town (27 706) finished in second position with eThekweni (26 290) in third place and Buffalo City in fourth. They were followed in the team standings by Cape Winelands, Eden, Ugu, the SA Development Academy and uThungulu.

Adin Masencamp is easily one of the most consistent surfers in the country. © Ian Thurtell

Adin Masencamp is easily one of the most consistent surfers in the country. © Ian Thurtell

Adin Masencamp (Cape Winelands) capped a great year of competition by capturing the U17 Boys’ title in a hard fought final. The 17 year-old from the Strand relegated Ford van Jaarsveldt (Cape Town Surfriders) to his second successive runner-up berth in the country’s most prestigious junior surfing event. Joshe Faulkner (Nelson Mandela Bay) added a significant contribution to his team’s total by finishing third while Luke Malherbe (Buffalo City) took fourth place.

JBay local Kirsty McGillivray keeping the crown local. © Ian Thurtell

JBay local Kirsty McGillivray keeps the crown local. © Ian Thurtell

Kirsty McGillivray (Nelson Mandela Bay) made it back-to-back SA titles when she added the U17 Girls’ crown to the U15 Girls’ title she won last year. Using her local knowledge, the Jeffreys Bay local caught the best of the one metre offshore waves, with Nina Harmse (Eden) coming in second, Sophie Bell (eThekweni) third and Anna Jellema Butler (Cape Town Surfriders) fourth.


Max Elkington with his team, Cape Town Surfriders. © AVG

Max Elkington (Cape Town Surfriders) clinched a third consecutive SA title, and his 15th national title overall, when he won the U15 Boys’ division in an extremely narrow win over Nelson Mandela Bay standout Angelo Faulkner, who was the only surfer to earn a perfect 10 point ride during the event. Karl Steen (eThekweni) and Ryan Lightfoot (Nelson Mandela Bay) finished third and fourth respectively.

“There weren’t many waves, but I started off with an okay ride and backed it up with a 7,” Elkington explained. “Then Angelo got a bomb and when I heard he got an 8 I was a little nervous. Right at the end I caught an insider and rode it as well as I could and got a decent score. So stoked!”


Kai Woolf’s backhand has been fine tuned to JBay walls. © AVG

Great wave selection and a her signature vertical backhand manoeuvres saw Kai Woolf (Nelson Mandela Bay) emerge triumphant in the U15 Girls’ final, where Cape Town Surfriders’ teammates Summer Sutton and Julia Plougmann earned second and third places ahead of Gabi Lailvaux (eThekweni), who was last year’s U13 champ.


James Ribbing – style master. © AVG

The U13 Boys’ and Girls’ divisions were dominated by youngsters from Durban and East London. James Ribbink is the 2016 Boys’ champion after finishing ahead of fellow eThekweni team member Luke Thompson, with Buffalo City’s Mitch du Preez and Daniel Emslie taking third and fourth in the final. Kayla Nogueira (EThekweni), a finalist last year, grabbed her first SA title by outscoring Lhea Johnston (Buffalo City), Jessie Powell (Ugu) and Zoe Steyn (Buffalo City) who finished in that order.


The graceful Kayla Noguiera. © AVG

Ford van Jaarsveldt reduced the disappointment of finishing runner-up in the U17 Boys’ for the second year running by successfully completing the best aerial manoeuvre and pocketing the cash in the winner-takes-all VonZipper Airshow. Kai Woolf received the BOS Highest Heat Score Award for her phenomenal total of 18.63 out of 20.

Cape Town Surfriders repeated their 2015 victory in the Billabong / Bad Billy’s Tag Team Paddle Battle and Nelson Mandela Bay were again judged to be the team displaying the best spirit throughout the event and received their second successive Skull Candy Stay Loud Team Spirit Award.

The winning team - Nelson Mandela Bay. © AVG

The winning team – Nelson Mandela Bay. © AVG

NMB and their team mascot showed excellent support all week. © AVG

NMB and their team mascot showed excellent support all week. © AVG

2016 Billabong SA Junior Champs presented by BOS


Freedom Cup (District team points)

  1. Nelson Mandela Bay      28,440 points
  2. Cape Town Surfriders    27,706
  3. eThekweni                                    26,290
  4. Buffalo City                       22,690
  5. Cape Winelands              21,916
  6. Eden                                  16,501
  7. Ugu                                                15,686
  8. SA Development Academy        12,588
  9. uThungulu                                   4,920

Boys U17

  1. Adin Masencamp (Cape Winelands)
  2. Ford van Jaarsveld (Cape Town Surfriders)
  3. Joshe Faulkner (Nelson Mandela Bay)
  4. Luke Malherbe (Buffalo City)

Girls U17

  1. Kirsty McGillivray (Nelson Mandela Bay)
  2. Nina Harmse (Eden)
  3. Sophie Bell (eThekweni)
  4. Anna Jellema Butler (Cape Town Surfriders)

Boys U15

  1. Max Elkington (Cape Town Surfriders)
  2. Angelo Faulkner (Nelson Mandela Bay)
  3. Karl Steen (eThekweni)
  4. Ryan Lightfoot (Nelson Mandela Bay)

 Girls U15

  1. Kai Woolf (Nelson Mandela Bay)
  2. Summer Sutton (Cape Town Surfriders)
  3. Julia Plougmann (Cape Town Surfriders)
  4. Gabi Lailvaux (eThekweni)

Boys U13

  1. James Ribbink (eThekweni)
  2. Luke Thompson (eThekweni)
  3. Mitch Du Preez (Buffalo City)
  4. Daniel Emslie (Buffalo City)

Girls U13

  1. Kayla Nogueira (eThekweni)
  2. Lhea Johnston (Buffalo City)
  3. Jessie Powell (Ugu)
  4. Zoe Steyn (Buffalo City)


Specialty Awards

Billabong / Bad Billy’s Tag Team Paddle Battle

Cape Town Surfriders

BOS Highest Heat Score

Kai Woolf (Nelson Mandela Bay) – 18.63 points

VonZipper Airshow

Ford van Jaarsveldt (Cape Town Surfriders)

Skull Candy Stay Loud Team Spirit Award

Nelson Mandela Bay

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *