13 September, 2016 13 September, 2016

Vic Bay Quad In Memory Of John Pfaff 2016

The annual Vic Bay Quad went down this past weekend, 10-11 September 2016. In previous years the swell has always risen to the occasion but this year the surfers were spared massive waves and instead treated to some clean, fun rides. The worst wipeout was awarded a bungy jump, Cape Town interrupted Nelson Mandela Bay’s winning streak and old rivalries reached new heights – all in memory of founder and local surf legend, John Pfaff. Full press release and images below.


A classic Craig Johnson cutty.

Cape Town Surfriders win the 2016 Vic Bay Quad in memory of John Pfaff

A late charge by the Cape Town Surfriders team saw them beat the defending champions Nelson Mandela Bay Surfriders to win the 2016 Vic Bay Quad in memory of John Pfaff.

In posting 41940 points the Cape Town Surfriders broke the Nelson Mandela Bay’s three year reign as team champions. NMB scored 41146 points, event hosts Eden Surfriders were third with 38550 points, Cape Winelands Surfriders scored 36310 points to take fourth and a depleted Buffalo City Surfriders team were fifth with 25930 points. The Cape Town Surfriders won a sponsored stay at the Wilderness Bush Camp which they will be able to use at next year’s Vic Bay Quad in memory of John Pfaff.


Cape Town Surfriders celebrate their victory.

 In the individual finals South African Junior Team member Jordy Maree of Cape Town Surfriders took honours in a hotly contested Open Division beating Grant Beck of Nelson Mandela Bay into second place. Michael Monk of Buffalo City was third and 2016 SA Under 20 Champion Ethan Fletcher of Cape Town took fourth spot.

Faye Zoetmulder of Nelson Mandela Bay won the women’s final with Taghiti Gericke of Eden taking second. SA Junior Team member Crystal Hulett of Nelson Mandela Bay came third and Danielle Johnson of Cape Winelands took fourth spot.


Jordy Maree hits 12 o’clock.

The Over 30 title went the way of a stoked Tyrell Johnson of Buffalo City with Eden stalwart Sean Holmes taking the runner up spot. Kyle Jacobs of Nelson Mandela Bay and Jonno Bruton of Buffalo City were third and fourth respectively.

Wayne Monk of Buffalo City added a fourth consecutive Over 40 Division title to his long list of successes beating Graeme Field of Cape Town into second. Shane Pratt of Cape Winelands took third ahead of Eden representative Kobus Swanepoel.


Graeme Field claps the lip.

 Richard Heath of Cape Winelands beat defending champion Greg Smith of Nelson Mandela Bay into second place to secure the Over 50 Division gold medal. Cape Town Surfriders stalwarts and lifelong friends, Sean Jerram and Andre Mory, came third and fourth.


Greg Smith swoops back with timeless style.

The Vic Bay Quad first took place back in 1976. The event was originally contested by Southern Cape (known as South Western Districts back then), Western Province, Eastern Province and Border. In the early 1980’s Boland joined the event but it retained its name as the Vic Bay Quad even though there were five teams taking part. At one stage a team from the SA Defence Force also competed but it has always been known as the Vic Bay Quad. The event did not take place for some years but was reinstated by Robin de Kock and the late Dave Fish in 2013 after the untimely passing of John Pfaff in 2012.


Llewelln Whittaker floats the boat.

 The Vic Bay Quad was named in John’s honour and his son David not only competes each year but plays a major role in supporting the event. This year David represented Eden Surfriders for the umpteenth time and won an award for posting 9.57 points for one of his waves which was the highest wave score of the contest.

 Apart from the finalists, who received medals and some generous prizes, other awards were made. Dean Knox of Buffalo City won the Best Wipe Out Award which was a voucher for a Bloukrans Bridge Bungy Jump, Rory Heard of Cape Town Surfriders won a bottle of Mischa Estate wine for his blatant interference on Warwick Heny in their heat and Heny won a backpackers and river rafting voucher for being the victim of the worst interference in the contest. Richard Heath was adjudicated as making the Biggest Manoeuvre of the Contest and won a bottle of Mischa Estate Wine for his efforts

The 2016 Vic Bay Quad was supported by the Wilderness Bush Camp, which is owned by the Pfaff family,SBS Brokers, Bilt Surfboards,Primi Piatti George, Gul Wetsuits,Surf Sense, Mischa Estate Wines, Garden Route Game Lodge, Wilderness Spar,Bloukrans Bungy,Focus Trust Believe, Gem at Shumbawi, Billabong and Campbell Peak wines from Bluegum Country Estate in Stanford.

Full results and photos by Graeme Field are posted on the Surfing South Africa website www.surfingsouthafrica.co.za

The 2016 Vic Bay Quad in memory of John Pfaff was presented by Surfing South Africa and hosted by the Eden Boardriders Association. Surfing South Africa is recognized by the SA Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) as the governing body for the sport in South Africa. Surfing South Africa is a member of the International Surfing Association (ISA).

*Images Supplied.

1 Comment

  1. Legend Davey Pfaff
    14 September, 2016 at 12:35 pm · Reply

    Awesome event organised by Davey Pfaff……legend and ripper ….his old man would be proud.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *