2 July, 2012 2 July, 2012

Legends and Rippers Honoured at 2012 SA Surf Awards

The scene was set for an entertaining evening. All images: Pablo Ponzone

The 2012 South African Surf Awards took place this past Friday (29 June) at the Wavehouse in Gateway. To kick things off the host for the evening, hugely popular comedian Nik Ribinowitz, loosened up the audience with his patented wit before the business end of the awards got underway.

The SA Surf Awards aim to recognise South Africa’s surfing talent, as well as to celebrate many of its legends with an annual induction into the South African Surfing Hall of Fame – Ant Brodowicz was honoured this year for his part played in South African surfing history.

Jordy Smith claimed yet another award in his long list of achievements when he took out the ‘Moment of the Year” award for his performance at the Billabong Pro J-Bay last year.

The most anticipated awards for the evening, however, are who’ll be named male and female surfer of the year. Claiming these coveted titles for 2012 were goofyfoot shredders Sarah Baum and Travis Logie.

The evening concluded with the gathered surf tribe catching up with old acquaintances and the making of new friends as the 2012 South African Surf Awards drifted slowly into the still Umhlanga air.

View the full list of award winners below:

Sarah Baum and Travis Logie took out the highly anticipated ‘Surfer of the Year’ awards.

ASP Africa Champions:
Pro Junior Men: Beyrick De Vries
Pro Junior Girls: Bianca Buitendag
Open Mens: Jordy Smith

PST Champions:
U20 Boys: Steven Sawyer
U20 Girls: Sarah Baum
Mens: Greg Emslie
Women: Nikita Robb

Moment of the Year:
Jordy wins Billabong Pro J-Bay 2011

Best use of Social Media:
Brendon Gibbens

Photo of the Year:
Greg Ewing

Contribution to Surfing:
Anne Wright

Agent of Change:
Isiqalo Foundation

Breakthrough Performer of the Year:
Dylan Lightfoot

Pushing the Boundaries:
Twiggy Baker & Matt Bromley (shared)

Surfer of the Year:
Sarah Baum

Surfer of the Year:
Travis Logie

Hall of Fame inductee:
Ant Brodowicz

Ladies beware!

MC Nik Rabinowitz cracks a joke for ASP’s Al Hunt

Ant Brodowicz was inducteed into the SA Surfing Hall of Fame

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *