29 June, 2012 29 June, 2012

Last finalist decided for Oakley One Wave Wonder

Twiggy Baker is the last finalist in the 2012 Oakley One Wave Wonder after winning a unanimous vote from the five judges and a majority vote from the public.

Twiggy was up against some stiff competition from the likes of Brandon Jackson and his ridiculous 10 second tube, as well as Beyrick De Vries’s huge double-air entry, but in the end nothing could top his 15 foot-plus Fijian freight train. It was a hard-earned win for Twig, who was narrowly pipped by Dave Richards in the April leg of the contest.

“I’m so stoked. I think this was the toughest month with Brandon’s barrel and Beyrick’s aerial combo. They could have won any of the other months and both could have beaten my Fiji wave on merit,” said Twiggy on finding out the good news. “Being the defending champion I really wanted to have another good dig at the One Wave Wonder this year and was obviously a little disappointed that I didn’t win the month with my slab from West Oz. Going to Fiji from South Africa was a big risk but in retrospect was well worth the time, money and effort! Big thanks to the judges and the public who voted. This is an amazing event and I hope it grows from strength to strength.”

Super-grom Matt MacGillivray killed it in the best grom clip section again, with a phenomenal double-air entry that secures him another custom shape from legendary board maker, Spider Murphy.

Twiggy now joins the five other finalists vying for Ride of the Season and the grandaddy of all prizes: a further R30 000 cash for the surfer, and a Yamaha XT Waverunner valued at R120 000. The person who documented the winning ride will also be smiling. They score an all expenses paid trip for two to Indonesia valued at over R50 000, made possible by All Aboard Surf Travel.

Public voting is open immediately for Ride of the Season, and closes at midday on Wednesday 4 July, with the winner announced that evening at the closing function. And don’t forget: you have a big hand in deciding the overall winner! The public vote counts for 50% of the overall decision, with the other 50% made up by the five Oakley 1WW judges. Log on to www.1wavewonder.co.za, check out the five finalists, and vote for the ride you think is most deserving of the mega win.

Viva Oakley One Wave Wonder, Viva!


Wok: Twiggy Baker
“The size says it all. I’ve been battling to pick a winner to be honest, but Twiggy is clever ‘cos he knows what he has to do to separate himself from the rest – going to Fiji did just that. The only person who stood a chance (unluckily it had to be in the same month) was Jacko. That to me was the most well-ridden barrel I’ve ever seen by a South African and I tell you now that if you’d taken a foot or two off Twiggys wave, then I’d give it to Brandon. But due to the hype of the swell and the size and effort, my winner is Twig.”

Davey We are: Twiggy Baker
“This wave is extremely solid, he has gone balls to the wall and absolutely got shacked off his head. He has shown commitment and courage and deserves this month’s win.”

Craig Jarvis: Twiggy Baker
“Coz it shits all over the other entries no matter how you look at it.”

Jonathan Paarman: Twiggy Baker
“That is just an awesome wave. Jacko’s wave is also incredible, but Twiggy takes it. His wave is critical, big and serious.”

Calvin Bradley:Twiggy Baker
“For me it has once again been a hard month to choose a winner. Even though many would see Twiggy’s ride and think that not much can top that, there’s just something special about Jacko’s wave that blows my mind. I am also a huge fan of hi-fi surfing and Beyrick’s alley oop and air-reverse is equally mindblowing on the other end of the scale. But in the end I’d say that Twiggy’s wave pips them both simply because, as Simon Nicholson pointed out, even Kelly chickened out and chose not to ride this day and he’s a past winner of the Eddie. Respect to Twig!”


1 Comment

  1. Loop
    29 June, 2012 at 10:54 am · Reply

    B-Jacks pipe was nuts!
    But Twig. Cant take it from yah. He got the kahownehs

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *