2 July, 2016 2 July, 2016

Jordy and Beyrick into round of 16

Bumpy seas greeted competitors this morning for the final two heats of the round of 48. With an incoming tide, the waves cleaned up and a decision was made to complete the mens round of 24. Beyrick de Vries, in heat three, paddled out into unpredictable surf against Joan Duru (FRA) and Ryan Callinan (AUS).

Tricky conditions for day five at The Ballito Pro. ©Dan Dedekind

Beyrick stuck to his recipe, securing an early lead, he then waited for priority and when the best wave of the heat showed up he was there. Two big turns into an air reverse and the judges gifted him with the highest wave score of the heat and a ticket into the man-on-man round of 16.

Beyrick de Vries and a stoked grom. ©Dan Dedekind

The freesurfing going down at Bathers Beach leading up to Beyrick’s heat convinced contest directors to move over the rocks from Willards, and that’s where Jordy Smith paddled out into the very next heat.

Jordy went big and uncharacteristically fell on his first few waves, but it all came together after ironing out a few creases. Nailing a forehand punt and linking some turns together on a left saw Jordy into second place while the final few minutes of heat four ticked down.

Jordy Smith goes up, over and into the next round. ©Dan Dedekind

Cooper Chapman (AUS) convincingly won the heat with Australian Kai Hing in third. Kai caught an inside wave in the final 20 seconds, needing a 4.93 he came up short and Jordy Smith, relieved, heads into the next round.

Unfortunately the seeding puts Beyrick and Jordy up against each other in heat three of the round of 16. Be sure to watch this 30 minute showdown from two of our county’s best competitive surfers when competition resumes at The 2016 Ballito Pro.

See More from The 2016 Ballito Pro HERE.


Lead Image: Beyrick de Vries boots into the round of 16. ©Dan Dedekind

Ballito Pro presented by Billabong Upcoming Round of 16 Heats

Heat1. Jeremy Flores (FRA) vs. Michael Rodrigues (BRA)

Heat2. Krystian Kymerson (BRA) vs. Deivid Silva (BRA)

Heat3. Beyrick de Vries (ZAF, uMhlanga) vs. Jordy Smith (ZAF, Durban)

Heat4. Cooper Chapman (AUS) vs. Joan Duru (FRA)

Heat5. Stu Kennedy (AUS) vs. Ezekiel Lau (HAW)

Heat6. Jack Freestone (AUS) vs. Bino Lopes (BRA)

Heat7. Davey Cathels (AUS) vs. Connor O’Leary (AUS)

Heat8. Ethan Ewing (AUS) vs. Leonardo Fioravanti (ITA)

Ballito Pro presented by Billabong Round of 24 Results

Heat1. Jeremy Flores (FRA) 11.63, Deivid Silva (BRA) 9.90, Messias Felix (BRA) 9.87

Heat2. Krystian Kymerson (BRA) 15.00, Michael Rodrigues (BRA) 13.43, David do Carmo (BRA) 7.94

Heat3. Beyrick de Vries (ZAF) 14.03, Joan Duru (FRA) 12.07, Ryan Callinan (AUS) 11.30

Heat4. Cooper Chapman (AUS) 14.66, Jordy Smith (ZAF) 11.70, Kai Hing (AUS) 10.74

Heat5. Stu Kennedy (AUS) 13.36, Bino Lopez (BRA) 12.43, Patrick Gudauskas (USA) 11.40

Heat6. Jack Freestone (AUS) 17.16, Ezekiel Lau (HAW) 15.00, Nathan Hedge (AUS) 10.40

Heat7. Davey Cathels (AUS) 14.00, Leonardo Fioravanti (ITA) 13.93, Dusty Payne (HAW) 11.97

Heat8. Ethan Ewing (AUS) 13.96, Connor O’Leary (AUS) 13.40, Maxime Huscenot (FRA) 10.23

Ballito Pro presented by Billabong Round of 48 Results

Heat11.Dusty Payne (HAW) 14.33, Connor O’Leary (AUS) 13.96, Matt Banting (AUS) 11.50, Mateia Hiquily (PYF) 10.14

Heat12. Maxime Huscenot (FRA) 11.53, Leonardo Fioravanti (ITA) 11.50, Frederico Morais (PRT) 11.00, Luel Felipe (BRA) 9.54



Last 16 decided on Day 5 of Ballito Pro


The 112 man field in the Ballito Pro presented by Billabong was whittled down to the last 16 in fickle one metre waves and warm sunshine that drew a huge crowd to Willard Beach in KwaDukuza to watch the world’s best surfers in action on Friday.

The first of just five QS10,000 rated events in 2016, The Ballito Pro offers the maximum rankings points to those competing on the World Surf League (WSL) Qualifying Series (QS) and the results will play a decisive role in the make-up of the top 10 QS surfers who will qualify for the elite 2017 Samsung Galaxy WSL Championship Tour (CT).

After completing the last two heats in the Round of 48, the three man heats in the Round of 24 started with experienced CT campaigner Jeremy Flores (FRA) claiming the victory and advancing to the man-on-man heats in the Round of 16, along with heat runner-up Deivid Silva (BRA)..

“I made it, it wasn’t pretty, but I made it,” said Flores. “All of these Brazilian guys and just everyone on the QS are so used to these kind of waves, it’s hard to beat them. I need the points as I’ve been getting pretty bad results on the CT this year. So I’ve got to make as many heats as I can in any events that I’m in. Right now I’m kind of in survivor mode, but I’d like to open up in the next few heats.”

Flores will be up against another QS standout in Michael Rodrigues in the next round. The high-flying Brazilian whose aerial manoeuvres have earned him the second highest single ride score and the second highest heat total of the event to date, finished runner-up to compatriot Deivid Silva in an all Brazilian match-up.

The partisan local crowd were in raptures when Beyrick de Vries from nearby uMhlanga won his heat ahead of Joan Duru (FRA) as the pair eliminated dangerman Ryan Callinan (AUS). And when top seed Jordy Smith finished second to Cooper Chapman (AUS) in the next heat, it set up an all South African last 16 clash between de Vries and Smith, with the winner progressing to the quarter-finals.

The bottom half of the draw was dominated by Australians with Stu Kennedy, CT rookie Jack Freestone, last year’s Ballito Pro runner-up Davey Cathels and rising star Ethan Ewing all winning their heats.

That quartet will face off with Ezekiel Lau (HAW), Bino Lopes (BRA), Connor O’Leary (AUS)  and Leonardo Fioravanti (ITA) respectively.

Fioravanti, who broke his back at Pipeline in Hawaii in January last year, currently leads the QS rankings and has a victory over 11 time world champion Kelly Slater (USA) on his CV. The Italian prodigy has had a low profile run through the event so far, not winning any of his three heats, but he will need to beat Ewing to if he is to stay in contention for the Ballito title.


Jeremy Flores (FRA) shows the form that has taken him to the last 16 in the Ballito Pro. ©WSL / Cestari

Organisers will meet will meet at 7.30am local time on Saturday. With strong winds and large waves expected, they will make the decision on when to get the event started.

Highlights from today’s action will be found at www.worldsurfleague.com

While the surfers ride the waves, the Ballito Pro Festival is set to turn up the heat in KwaDukuza by offering the best in beach, music and sports entertainment. Locals and holiday-makers will be spoilt for choice with the week-long festival featuring the ‘Fire up your stoke: Night of food & wine’, an extreme sports programme and an exciting retail area, while the Five Star Ballito Pro Free Music Concerts powered by 5FM bring some of South Africa’s most talented music acts to the stage in Salt Rock.

See more information at www.theballitopro.co.za

The Ballito Pro presented by Billabong is proudly supported by the KwaDukuza Municipality, Billabong, 5FM, Monster Energy, Zigzag Surfing Magazine, World Surf League (WSL) and Surfing South Africa (SSA).

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *