16 February, 2015 16 February, 2015

Seal Point Boardriders Win SA Interclub Champs

In their first attempt at the Billabong SA Interclub Championships, Seal Point Boardriders Surf Club claimed top honours ahead of a record fifteen other teams that competed at Kitchen Windows this past weekend.

The triumphant Seal Point Boardriders team.

The Seal Point Boardriders team consisting of; Shaun Payne, Faye Zoetmulder, Donovan Zoetmulder, Cody Futeran and Dylan Stevens proved too strong for the CYOH Surf Club from PE who finished in second. Rounding out the final held in testing and windy conditions were J-Bay Boardriders in third, while reigning champs JBU Surf Club finished fourth.

Shaun Payne was ripping for Seal Point Boardriders.

Check out the official press release below.




The Seal Point Boardriders Surf Club, who were coached by the legendary duo of Graham Hynes and Ant Brodowicz and comprised former SA Champion Shaun Payne, current National Team member Faye Zoetmulder, her brother Donovan as well as Cody Futeran and Dylan Stevens, celebrated their first appearance in a National Interclub tournament with a victory when they posted 168.1 points in the final of the 2015 Billabong SA Interclub Championships at Kitchen Windows in Jeffrey’s Bay yesterday (Sunday February 15th).

A disappointed CYOH Surf Club of Port Elizabeth scored 150,2 points to take second spot while 2013 champions, the J Bay Boardriders posted 133,0 points to finish third. The defending champions, JBU Surf Club had to settle for fourth place after scoring 109,9 points in the final.


CYOH Surf Club (above) and J-Bay Boardriders (below) finished second and third respectively.


The defeated semi finalists were the Natural Energy Surf Club and the UCT Surf Club. A record fifteen teams representing thirteen clubs participated in the third annual National Interclub Surfing Championships.

Tough weather and strong winds made the first day of competition difficult and event officials made the decision to call a halt to competition on Day One after the first four heats and although the weather improved on Day Two, strong winds made the 2 – 3 foot surf difficult to handle throughout the day.

The event was contested in a tag team format.

At the Award ceremony held on the beach at Kitchen Windows, Surfing South Africa Vice President Johnny Bakker presented the South African Interclub Trophy and gold, silver, bronze and copper medals to the team members of the teams that reached the finals.

The event was hosted by the JBU Surf Club, who exercised their right to host the tournament in Jeffreys Bay. Seal Point Boardriders now have the right to chose a venue for next year’s tournament which will be held on February 13th & 14th next year.

Faye Zoetmulder was scoring big for Seal Point Boardriders.

The full results of the tournament and pictures are available on www.surfingsouthafrica.co.za

The 2015 Billabong Interclub Championships is a Surfing South Africa event made possible by the support received from Sport and Recreation South Africa.


Jerry Van Wyk made the most of the tricky conditions.

Alex van Rijswijk was tearing into the windy walls.


Local surfer, Angelo Faulkner impressed with his backhand attack at Kitchen Windows.

Natural Energy Surf Club from Strand finished fifth overall.

UCT’s Maties Surf Club finished sixth.

The stoked J-Bay Surf Club (A) Team.

The J-Bay Surf Club (B) team.

The Kowie Boardriders Club were amped to compete.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *