15 February, 2016 15 February, 2016

Seal Point Boardriders Defend Interclub Title

With epic overhead waves at their home break, Seal Point Boardriders took out the field of competition to defend their title as Billabong SA Interclub Champions over the weekend.

The Seal Point B Team of Ricky Basnett, Dale Staples, Jonno Hill, Simon Fish and Crystal Hulett with legendary surf coach Graham Hynes, stoked with back to back SA Interclub titles.

After relocating to the Eastern Cape earlier this year, Ricky Basnett is the newest face in the Seal Point boardriders club. Zag Spy caught Ricky in a lovely mood, he gave us his thoughts on their big win: “The waves were absolutely pumping over the weekend. It was a great contest to be a part of and I think we need more of these club events happening around the country.” -Ricky Basnett

Needless to say, the waves were pumping.

Team Sisonke surf club 2016: Quinton Shabalala, Khayelihle Ngcobo, Sam Cele, Simo Mkhize, Zamani Gcwensa, Team coach: Fika Ngubane



Monday 15 February 2016

Billabong SA Interclub Championships supported by Sport and Recreation SA
Seal Point beach break, Cape St Francis
13 & 14 February, 2016

The Seal Point Boardriders B Team takes the win at the 2016 Billabong SA Interclub Championships presented by Sport and Recreation SA

The Seal Point Boardriders Surf Club B Team has won the 2016 Billabong SA Interclub Surfing Championships at their home break. The Seal Point Boardriders won the title in Jeffreys Bay last year which earned them the right to not only host the event but also enter two teams.

Guided once again by legendary coach Graham Hynes the Seal Point B Team made an impression throughout and in the end the combination of Ricky Basnett, Dale Staples, Jonno Hill, Simon Fish and Crystal Hulett proved to be too good for their opponents as they posted 161 points to take the title for the second year in a row.

2015 runners up, CYOH Surf Club of Port Elizabeth, made up of Grant Beck, Remi Petersen, Bruce Campbell, Alex Van Rijswijck and Kia Fenton scored 156,2 points to take second spot once again while the Melkbos based West Coast Boardriders team of Tristan Lev, Diran Zakarian, Ryan Payne, Gerrit Frylinck and Dorette Oosthuizen posted 138,3 points to take third place for the second year in a row.
The Port Elizabeth based Madibaz (NMMU) Surf Club comprising Jean Du Plessis, Dane Cox, Brandon Stockwell, Kyle Rubin and Roxy Giles were fourth.

A great performance by the SWOT Surf Club from Muizenberg saw them finish joint 5th with 2013 champions JBay Boardriders while some inspired surfing by the Sisonke Surf Club from KZN saw them ending 7th alongside 2014 champions, the JBU Surf Club of Jeffreys Bay.

Seal Point A, the JBay Surf Club, the Maties Surf Club and the Joburg Boardriders, who made history as the first ever inland based surf club to compete in the annual Interclub championships, finished joint 9th in a record field of 18 teams from 16 clubs.  .

The event was hosted by the Seal Point Boardriders in good 3 -4 foot Seal Point beach break surf. They now have the right to chose a venue for next year’s tournament which will be held on the second weekend of February.

The full results of the tournament and pictures are available on www.surfingsouthafrica.co.za

The South African Interclub Championships was a Surfing South Africa event made possible by the support received from Billabong and Sport and Recreation South Africa.

Surfing South Africa (SSA) is a member of the SA Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and the International Surfing Association (ISA). SSA is the governing body for all surf riding in South Africa and is recognized as such by Sport and Recreation South Africa.

Seal Point Boardriders B Team celebrate their victory : Photo Kody McGregor

Crystal Hulett of the Seal Point Boardriders Surf Club in action : Photo Kody Mc Gregor


Compiled by:

Robin de Kock
General Manager
Surfing South Africa
For all media info contact 0824541149 or surfingsouthafrica@gmail.com
3__#$!@%!#__0 4__#$!@%!#__0

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *