31 July, 2015 31 July, 2015

Richards Bay Ready for SA Champs Invasion

More than 200 surfers and officials are making their way to Richards Bay for the 50th running of the SA Surfing Champs. Citroën are the presenting sponsors of the 7-day tournament hosted by uThungulu Surfriding (formerly Zululand Surfriders Association), which will decide champions in 11 divisions ranging from Under 20 through to Under 60.

Richards Bay local, Liam de Villiers, is amped for the champs to get underway.

For some insight into the surf-stoked town that is hosting this year’s champs, check out our spot profile ‘Welcome to Richards Bay‘.

Or read the press release below for more details.




Event: Citroën SA National Surfing Championships
Where: Alkantstrand, Richards Bay, KZN
When: August 2nd to August 9th 2015.

Alkantstrand in Richards Bay is bracing itself for the arrival of over 200 surfers and officials who will be participating in the 2015 Citroën SA National Surfing Championships which gets under way with an Opening Function at the Zululand Multisports Club at 7:00pm on Sunday 2 August, and ends with all eleven finals on Sunday 9 August.

A major national surfing contest has never been held at this venue but this year the honour of hosting the 50th edition of the South African Championships and the 10th edition of the South African Masters Championships falls to Richards Bay and the uThungulu Surfriders.

Citroën South Africa are the headline sponsor of the tournament and the new Citroën C4 Cactus will be showcased at the event along with spectacular surfing action from World Champions, South African Champions, national team members and provincial and district surfing stars.

 Not only is the Citroën National Surfing Championships the biggest surfing event ever to take place in Richards Bay but the seven day event is also a landmark tournament for Surfing South Africa, the national governing body for the sport.

Surfers representing Districts from along the South African coast will contest 11 divisions from Under 20 to Over 60 and will compete in a total of 140 heats. The 57 hours of competition will not only determine the 2015 South African Champions but will also decide which teams win the Presidents Cup, the Masters Cup and the Celebration Shield.

The winning District in the Open and Under 20 Divisions will be awarded the 40 year old Presidents Cup, which is currently held by the Nelson Mandela Bay Surfriders, while the holders of the Masters Cup, which goes to the team whose surfers score the highest points in the Over 30 Women and Over 35 to Over 60 Men’s Division, is Buffalo City Surfriders.

To commemorate the 50th year of organised surfing in South Africa, the team that scores the highest combined points overall will be presented with a specially commissioned Celebration Shield, which will be kept in uMhlatuze Mayor’s chambers. The Championship Team will take home a replica.

The 50th Citroen South African Surfing Championships are supported by Sport and Recreation SA, the National Lottery Distribution Trust Fund, Reef Wetsuits. Zigzag, the Zululand Observer, the uMhlatuze Community Tourism Organisation, the City of uMhlatuze and Monster Energy.

The heats and contest schedule for the 2016 Citroën SA National Championships are posted on www.surfingsouthafrica.co.za


Surfing South Africa is the governing body for the sport in South Africa and is a member of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and the International Surfing Association (ISA).

# citroënSA
# C4cactus
# CitroënRB

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *