21 August, 2012 21 August, 2012

Holding Pattern Continues at Billabong Pro Tahiti, Swell on the Horizon

While the surf may have taken a breather at the Billabong Pro Tahiti, the beautiful sunsets certainly haven’t. Image: ASP/ Kirstin

The holding pattern continues at the Billabong Pro Tahiti as small surf has forced event organizers to call the fourth, consecutive lay day.

Event No. 5 of 10 on the 2012 ASP World Championship Tour, the Billabong Pro Tahiti got off to a quick start, completing Rounds 1 and 2 in the opening days of the window. An unfavorable swell pattern has since forced event organizers to postpone the recommencement of competition until conditions improve.

“As expected, surf remains small today and we’ve call a lay day for competition.,” Rich Porta, ASP International Head Judge, said. “The next few days look like they’ll have similar conditions and we’re still tracking a model that could provide waves for the last two days of the waiting period. We’ll be back each day to reassess and make a call then.

Event organizers will reconvene tomorrow morning at 6:30am to assess conditions for a possible 7am start.

Surfline, official forecasters for the Billabong Pro Tahiti are calling for mall scale, fading surf to take over today, with flat/near flat conditions for Wednesday and into Thursday. A slight pick up occurs on Friday (although still small scale). We’re tracking a medium size SW ground swell to end the waiting period on Sunday and Monday the 26th-27th.

When competition resumes, up first will be two-time ASP World Champion and current ASP WCT No. 1 Mick Fanning (AUS), 31, up against Fredrick Patacchia (HAW), 30, in the opening heat of Round 3.

For all the highlights from Round 1 & 2 check out http://www.billabongpro.com/tahiti12

Heat 1: Mick Fanning (AUS) vs. Fredrick Patacchia (HAW)
Heat 2: Julian Wilson (AUS) vs. Adrian Buchan (AUS)
Heat 3: Taj Burrow (AUS) vs. Kai Ottonn (AUS)
Heat 4: Owen Wright (AUS) vs. Miguel Pupo (BRA)
Heat 5: C.J. Hobgood (USA) vs. Michel Bourez (PYF)
Heat 6: Kelly Slater (USA) vs. Ricardo dos Santos (BRA)
Heat 7: Joel Parkinson (AUS) vs. Taylor Knox (USA)
Heat 8: Jeremy Flores (FRA) vs. Heitor Alves (BRA)
Heat 9: Josh Kerr (AUS) vs. Damien Hobgood (USA)
Heat 10: John John Florence (HAW) vs. Brett Simpson (USA)
Heat 11: Gabriel Medina (BRA) vs. Alejo Muniz (BRA)
Heat 12: Adriano de Souza (BRA) vs. Kieren Perrow (AUS)

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *