15 May, 2015 15 May, 2015

First Eight Selected for JBU Supertrial

The first eight of 24 contestants for this year’s JBU Supertrial presented by RVCA have been selected. They are: Dylan Lightfoot, Sean Holmes, Matt Mcgillivray, Beyrick De Vries, Mikey February, Greg Emslie, Slade Prestwich and Dale Staples.

Dylan Lightfoot has a chance to make it back-to-back victories in the JBU Supertrial.

Surfers who wished to enter the JBU Supertrial were asked to submit their motivation on the official portal, and during the month-long entry process, 54 surfers signalled their intentions by signing themselves up.

Of the first eight trialists selected, Dylan Lightfoot, Michael February, Matt Mcgillivray and Slade Prestwich were all finalists in last year’s Supertrial, which was a strong case for them to be included in this year’s event. The other four names chosen by the selection panel includes a mix of current WQS campaigners, a former Dream Tour surfer and Sean Holmes, who is often referred to as the ‘world’s most dangerous wildcard’ after some giant-killing displays at Supertubes in the past.

Sean Holmes is deadly at Supertubes.

Sixteen more surfers to contest the 24-man JBU Supertrial will be announced next week, so stay tuned to find out who will be fighting it out for a wildcard into this year’s J-Bay Open.

And remember, YOU can win a trip to watch the event live. RVCA are giving away a prize to one lucky reader who e-mails a list of their five favourite Supertrial entrants to comps@zigzag.co.za. Once the final 24 invitees have been chosen, a random draw will then decide who earns the chance to go watch the event live – accommodation and travel paid for by RVCA.

Prize includes:
• 2 Nights accommodation in J-Bay
• Flights from anywhere in SA
• Entrants need to be able to travel within 48 hours of event being called ON.
• Please include your name, contact details and address in your e-mail.

Check out the press release below.




Jeffreys Bay – The entries for the JBU Supertrial closed on Monday, and there were 54 entries in total. Only 24 surfers will be invited to compete in this prestigious event, with first prize being a wildcard slot into the WSL Championship Tour’s JBay Open. This surfer will receive a minimum prize of US$9,000 (R109,000). The JBay Open is the anchor event of the JBay Winterfest -www.jbaywinterfest.com

These surfers all entered through the www.zigzag.co.za/supertrial/ portal. There was a flurry of public votes, as well as a big Social Media push, and a final panel selection. The first 8 selected surfers are a mix of hard-earned experience and young blood, of local Supertubes talent, and others from as far afield as Durban and Cape Town. “The first batch of surfers has been announced, and there is some red-hot talent in there,” said RVCA’s Arno Lane. “We are looking forward to the announcement next week of the last 16 surfers, who will be competing in the first round.”

There has been a slight contest format change from last year. These 8 selected surfers have been seeded directly into the quarterfinals of the event, and the next 16 surfers will surf a first round of heats to find out who will be meeting the 8 seeds in the quarterfinals.

The 8 seeded surfers in no particular order:

Dylan Lightfoot
Sean Holmes
Matt Mcgillivray
Beyrick De Vries
Mikey February
Greg Emslie
Slade Prestwich
Dale Staples

Last year’s finalists, in Lightfoot, February, Prestwich and McGillivray, are all included in the first 8.

“I’m stoked to get into the event,” said Lightfoot. “I have been surfing Supers non-stop the last few weeks so have had loads of practise. I always look forward to surfing Supers with just three other guys out. Hopefully we get a good run of swell this year.”

Sean Holmes, still recognised as the best wildcard at JBay, and known throughout the surfing world as ‘The Nemesis’ was equally excited about his inclusion. “I’m super excited to be selected for the JBU Supertrial. It’s such a cool event with a real local feel,” said Holmes on hearing the news about his inclusion. “The fact that it presents an opportunity to possibly surf against the best in the world on local soil is the cherry on the cake! Thanks to everyone for all the support over the years.”

Nixon South Africa will be awarding a Nixon Tangent Sports Watch valued at R6 000 for the surfer who rides the best tube in the event, as well as a Nixon Blaster for the event winner.

The JBU Supertrial presented by RVCA  is sanctioned by Surfing South Africa. Surfing South Africa is a member of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC), and recognised by the Dept. of Sport and Recreation as the national controlling body for surfing.  

The JBU Supertrial presented by RVCA precedes the JBay Open WSL Championship Tour event, which takes place during the JBay Winterfest.

The JBU Supertrial presented by RVCA is supported by Arbor, Firewire, Stance, Nixon, Monster Energy South Africa, Zigzag Magazine and El Jimador Tequila.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *