25 August, 2012 25 August, 2012

Final Lay Day Called for Billabong Pro Tahiti, Building Surf Tomorrow

Teahupo’o’s final day of slumber before the 2012 Billabong Pro Tahiti recommences tomorrow. Image: ASP/Kirstin

TEAHUPO’O, Taiarapu/Tahiti Saturday, August 25, 2012) – The Billabong Pro Tahiti has called its eighth and final lay day this morning and will recommence competition tomorrow.

Event No. 5 of 10 on the 2012 ASP World Championship Tour, the Billabong Pro Tahiti completed the opening two rounds of competition in the opening two days of the waiting period and will complete the remainder of the event in the final two days of the competitive window.

“As expected, the swell has yet to fill in this morning and we’ve called competition off for the day,” Rich Porta, ASP International Head Judge, said. “We anticipate a modest swell to fill in the afternoon and build throughout the night and into tomorrow while a stronger secondary swell begins hitting tomorrow afternoon and sets up a good finish for Monday. We’ll be back tomorrow morning.”

Event organizers will reconvene tomorrow morning at 6:30am to assess conditions for a possible 7am start.

Surfline, official forecasters for the Billabong Pro Tahiti, are calling for small surf to continue for most of today, with new SW swell starting pulse up over the late afternoon and evening. This medium size SW ground swell will fill in further and be strongest on tomorrow. A larger and solid south swell will build rapidly over tomorrow afternoon and continue Monday. Strong East trades prevail through the weekend, shifting more ENE/NE on Monday and easing.

When competition resumes, up first will be two-time ASP World Champion and current ASP WCT No. 1 Mick Fanning (AUS), 31, up against Fredrick Patacchia (HAW), 30, in the opening heat of Round 3.

Highlights from the Billabong Pro Tahiti will be available via http://www.billabongpro.com

Heat 1: Mick Fanning (AUS) vs. Fredrick Patacchia (HAW)
Heat 2: Julian Wilson (AUS) vs. Adrian Buchan (AUS)
Heat 3: Taj Burrow (AUS) vs. Kai Ottonn (AUS)
Heat 4: Owen Wright (AUS) vs. Miguel Pupo (BRA)
Heat 5: C.J. Hobgood (USA) vs. Michel Bourez (PYF)
Heat 6: Kelly Slater (USA) vs. Ricardo dos Santos (BRA)
Heat 7: Joel Parkinson (AUS) vs. Taylor Knox (USA)
Heat 8: Jeremy Flores (FRA) vs. Heitor Alves (BRA)
Heat 9: Josh Kerr (AUS) vs. Damien Hobgood (USA)
Heat 10: John John Florence (HAW) vs. Brett Simpson (USA)
Heat 11: Gabriel Medina (BRA) vs. Alejo Muniz (BRA)
Heat 12: Adriano de Souza (BRA) vs. Kieren Perrow (AUS)

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *