21 May, 2015 21 May, 2015

Final 16 Announced for JBU Supertrial

Sixteen more surfers have been added to the eight announced last week, rounding off the 24 contestants who’ll be fighting it out in the JBU Supertrial presented by RVCA for a wildcard into the J-Bay Open.

Sean Holmes will be competing in the JBU Supertrial presented by RVCA.

Joining Dylan Lightfoot, Sean Holmes, Matt Mcgillivray, Beyrick De Vries, Mikey February, Greg Emslie, Slade Prestwich and Dale Staples in the event in no particular order are:

Dan Thornton, Remi Peterson, Frankie Oberholzer, David van Zyl, Shaun Payne, Shane Sykes, Simon Nicholson, Matt Bromley, Casey Grant, Ricky Basnett, Chad du Toit, Dan Redman, Brandon Jackson, Benji Brand, Joshe Faulkner and Ryan Payne.

Scanning through that list you’ll find a solid mix of experience and youthful flair, and it’s going to be quite a shootout for the one available spot in the Championship Tour event. It’s fair to say that whoever gets through that field and into the J-Bay Open should have some of the Dream Tour surfers sweating. Experience at a wave like Supertubes plays a major role, and if they come face-to-face with a J-Bay newbie they’ll have the upper hand.

Matt Bromley knows his way into and out of a Supertubes barrel.

They’ll be up against the top seeds in the early rounds though, most of whom have surfed plenty of heats at Supertubes, so we look forward to quite the showdown.

First though, we’ll be watching SA’s best fight it out for that opportunity in the sickest possible waves at Supertubes between 1 – 12 June, which will be a spectacle for sure.

And remember, YOU can win a trip to watch the JBU Supertrial live. RVCA are giving away a prize to one lucky reader who e-mails a list of their five favourite Supertrial contestants to comps@zigzag.co.za. A random draw will then decide who earns the chance to go watch the event live – accommodation and travel paid for by RVCA.

Prize includes:
• 2 Nights accommodation in J-Bay
• Flights from anywhere in SA
• Entrants need to be able to travel within 48 hours of event being called ON.
• Please include your name, contact details and address in your e-mail.

Check out the press release below.




JBay – After much deliberation, the final 16 surfers in the JBU Supertrial presented by RVCA have been selected. They are once again a mix of young talent alongside hard-earned experience, of new school aerial antics against smooth carves and power arcs. One of the selected 24 surfers will win a slot into the World Surf League Championship Tour’s 6th event of the year, the JBay Open. Along with getting to surf against the best surfers in the world, this surfer will also win a minimum of US$9,000 (R109,000). The JBay Open is the anchor event of the JBay Winterfest.

The 16 surfers to join the 8 seeded surfers already selected in no particular order are:

Dan Thornton, Remi Peterson, Frankie Oberholzer, David van Zyl, Shaun Payne, Shane Sykes, Simon Nicholson, Matt Bromley, Casey Grant, Ricky Basnett, Chad du Toit, Dan Redman, Brandon Jackson, Benji Brand, Joshe Faulkner and Ryan Payne.

Voting and social media definitely played a part in popular Durban surfer Simon Nicholson being selected into the tournament. He was ecstatic to be included in the selection.

“I honestly never thought I would get a shot at a Championship Tour event ever again, so to be honest, a spot in the trials is a huge opportunity for me,” said Simon. “The JBU Supertrial is as prestigious as the Pipe Trials or Chopes, where you go up against guys like Sean Holmes and Greg Emslie, who have consistently finished in the finals of the WCT event there. It’s going to be so tough. I probably won’t sleep in the nights leading up to it if there is a good swell. Beyond stoked right now!”

Joshe Faulkner from JBay was another surfer who was surprised but elated at his inclusion in the event. “I’m so stoked to be in the JBU Supertrial, and I can’t believe that I will possibly get a chance to surf in a Championship Tour event,” said Joshe. “I hope to make all my friends and family in JBay proud when I compete in the event.”

Alternates for the contest are, in no particular order:

Sebastian Williams, Max Armstrong, Shane Thorne, Josh Salie, Koby Oberholzer, Grant Baker, Llewellyn Whittaker, Kelvin Zehmke and Simon Fish.

Alternate seedings will be announced when the heat draw is finalised.

Nixon South Africa will be awarding a Nixon Tangent Sports Watch valued at R6,000 for the surfer who rides the Best Tube in the contest, as well as a Nixon Blaster for the Event Winner.

The JBU Supertrial presented by RVCA is sanctioned by Surfing South Africa. Surfing South Africa is a member of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC), and recognised by the Dept. of Sport and Recreation as the national controlling body for surfing. 

The JBU Supertrial presented by RVCA precedes the JBay Open WSL Championship Tour event, which takes place during the JBay Winterfest.

The JBU Supertrial presented by RVCA is supported by Arbor, Firewire, Stance, Nixon, Monster Energy South Africa, Zigzag Magazine and El Jimador Tequila.


  1. Mitchelin
    21 May, 2015 at 9:18 am · Reply

    Solid list. Just one guy missing… If you had to ask most of those guys who they wouldn’t want in their heat, it would be Gav Roberts.

  2. Kobus
    21 May, 2015 at 10:32 am · Reply

    Warren Dean name is missing

  3. Kevin
    21 May, 2015 at 1:07 pm · Reply

    Gary van Wieringen’s name is missing.

  4. Simmo and Supers
    21 May, 2015 at 2:34 pm · Reply

    Shot Simon …….you deserve it …there are plenty people backing you!!!
    Supers…….-lay into her hard boet….and she will reward you.

    Well done Zag.

  5. Waldorf
    23 May, 2015 at 4:36 am · Reply

    What was the point of voting if the guy with the most votes didn’t get in and the one with the least amount of votes did? Weird system you got going there… Please explain if you can.

    • Waldorf
      30 May, 2015 at 7:12 am · Reply

      I guess you couldn’t then…touché

  6. patflan
    24 May, 2015 at 10:00 am · Reply

    There’s a knob in this selection and he’s not a natural footer.

  7. Jamii Hamlin
    29 May, 2015 at 12:01 pm · Reply

    Would be great to see a few of the talented groms like Adin Masenchamp have as opportunity, let’s grow the emerging talent pool not favour a selected few…

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *