22 September, 2015 22 September, 2015

Dylan Lightfoot and Nicole Pallet Triumph at Boss of Moss

J-Bay local Dylan Lightfoot and Durban’s Nicole Pallet took top honours in the Under 20 division of the inaugural Boss of Moss Pro Junior, which took place in Mossel Bay over the weekend.

Dylan Lightfoot was unbeatable at Inner Pool.

With the final event of the Billabong Junior Series coming up at the end of this week and the 2015 Billabong SA Junior Champs the week after, many of the competitors in the Boss of Moss Pro Junior were using the comp as final preparations for these massive events. And many looked in red hot form already.

Check out the press release below for more details.


Junior surf contest a huge success in Mossel Bay

Sebastian Williams featured in the final of both the U/20 and U/16 Boys division.

THE POINT, MOSSEL BAY – Dylan Lightfoot (Jeffreys Bay) overcame Sebastian Williams and Joshe Faulkner (both Jeffreys Bay) in the premier U/20 Boys division of the Boss Of Moss surfing contest. It was Williams who took the initiative early on, taking to the air and pulling-off an incredibly high air 360. This sparked a fire in Lightfoot, which sent him into the air on the very next wave. Not to be outdone, goofy-footed (surfs with his right foot forward) Faulkner launched a backhand air to reverse but was unable to hold on. Three waves ridden with back-to-back air 360’s, a fitting climax to what was a very successful event.

“It was a really cool event,” commented a stoked Lightfoot afterward. “It’s always nice coming to Mossel Bay, I seem to always get good results here and the waves are usually really fun!”

Nicole Pallet (KZN) took out the highly competive U20 Girls division ahead of Ollie Brand and Sophie Bell. Tristan Lev – who has based himself in Cape St Francis this year – took out the U16 Boys division ahead of some big names. Ever the darkhorse, he once again showed why he will be force in the future of South African surfing.

Adin Masencamp was another who was ripping.

“The final day saw awesome waves with lights winds making for very contestable conditions,” commented contest organiser Llewellyn Whittaker after the event. “The Boss of Moss in it’s first year was a huge success. Events like these are only achievable by a team effort, people who are passionate about what they do and why they doing coming together with one goal on mind,” Whittaker commented.

“Special thanks to Jo Krone for going the extra mile and Albert Phillipson and Chris Dunt for all his hard work behind the scenes,” he said.

The event saw over 90-entrants jam packed into five divisions, which made for 25 heats per day over the two days, some 16 hours of surfing.

The Von Zipper Expression Session, held under floodlights on the Saturday evening was also a huge success. The format different from traditional ‘expression sessions’  – where there is one heat with a whole bunch of surfer in the water – in that it had four heats of 20 minutes each with four surfers in each heat. “The kids were rather nervous but had a great time despite the howling onshore,” Whittaker said. “The NSRI where awesome, they braved the windy and cold conditions till the very last heat.


U/20 Boys
1. Dylan Lightfoot
2. Sebastian Williams
3. Joshe Faulkner
4. Matthew McGillivray

U/20 Girls
1. Nicole Pallet
2. Ollie Brand
3. Sophie Bell
4. Natasha Van Greunen

U/16 Boys
1. Tristan Lev
2. Joshe Faulkner
3. Sebastian Williams
4. Adin Masencamp

U/16 Girls
1. Sophie Bell
2. Anna Jellema Butler
3. Natasha Van Greunen
4. Taghiti Gericke

U/14 Boys
1. Aya Gericke
2. Ryan Lightfoot
3. Luke Slijpen
4. Eli Beukes

U/14 Girls
1. Julia Ploughmann
2. Am Launder
3. Kelly Fenton
4. Kelly Medley

U/12 Boys
1. Nathan Spalding
2. Mitch Du Preez
3. Kye McGregor
4. Christian Venter


• Shane Sykes was most progressive surfer, he won the overall prize and pockets R500 for his efforts.
• Liam De Villiers for a mad tail drop floater
• Luke Slijpen for a huge carve
• Jose Faulkner for his backhand air reverse.

• Natasha Van Greunen won most consistent surfer at the event and she won a 2 night stay at Point Village Hotel for two nights.
• Dylan Lightfoot also won a two-night stay at the Wilderness Hotel and Spa for the highest heat total.
• Luke Slijpen won a set of Surf Ears for the most progressive maneuver.


Special thanks to the sponsors:
• Waves Surf Shop
• Ford Mossel bay
• Art Grass
• Point Village hotel
• B@home Guest house
• Wilderness Hotel and Spa
• Red Bull
• PSG Mossel bay
• Surf Ears
• ELS Surfboards

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *