20 May, 2013 20 May, 2013

Capetonian Zakarian Edges Out Favourite Prestwich At Quiksilver Pro Junior 2013

New Pier, Durban – Eighteen year old Diran Zakarian from Melkbosstrand, Cape Town today edged out event favourite and last year’s winner Slade Prestwich (Durban) to win the 2013 edition of the Quiksilver Pro Junior held at Durban’s New Pier. Zakarian entered the final as a clear underdog coming up against strong competition in the form of Dylan Lightfoot (Jeffreys Bay), David van Zyl (Durban) and favourite Slade Prestwich (Durban). Zakarian started off the twenty minute final which was held in very tough onshore conditions with the heats highest scoring wave, a 7.0 point ride out of a possible 10 points. Prestwich fought back furiously with two decent scoring rides, drawing even on points but falling short when counting back to the best single score.


While Lightfoot and Van Zyl battled to get going in the very tricky conditions and it was the Capetonian Zakarian who emerged victorious earning himself a first place cheque of R18 000. “I had no idea that I was even leading the final, the wind was pumping and it was difficult out there. I have no words at this time I am just over the moon,” said a very happy Zakarian. Prestwich pocketed a healthy R8 000 for his efforts.

In the younger ‘king of the groms ‘divisions it was young Adin Masencamp from Strand, Cape Town who stole the show cleaning up in both the boys under sixteen division and boys under fourteen division. Masencamp impressed the judges scoring some big scores ending the day with 9.5 point ride in his under sixteen final. Other surfers to shine in the wild conditions were Koby Oberholzer (Warner Beach), Jordy Maree (Cape Town) and Ethan Fletcher (Cape Town), however, none of the them could catch an on-form Masencamp.


Max Elkington (Cape Town) proved in a very competitive under twelve division that local knowledge does not always pay off, Elkington was unstoppable winning the under twelve boys division ahead off Angelo Faulkner (Jeffreys Bay), Karl Steen (Durban) and York van Jaarsveld (Cape Town). “I love coming to Durban, the waves were fun this weekend even though the onshore wind was blowing, I just want to thank mu sponsors and my coach for everything,” said Elkington on stage while wearing his kings crown.

Check out the gallery featuring the best moments from the Quiksilver Pro Junior, HERE>>

The Quiksilver Pro Junior 2013 was presented by the City of Durban and boasted a massive R75 000 in prize money. The event was sanctioned by ASP (Association of Surfing Professionals) and SSA (South African Surfing). Sponsors included the City of Durban, Skullcandy, Independent on Saturday and Red Bull.

Full Results:

U20 Pro Junior Division:
1 – Diran Zakarian
2 – Slade Prestwhich
3 – Dylan Lightfoot
4 – David Van Zyl

U16 Division
1 – Adin Masencamp
2 – Jordan Maree
3 – Ethan Fletcher
4 – Nthando Msibi

U14 Division
1 – Adin Masencamp
2 – Koby Oberholzer
3 – Ethan Fletcher
4 – Jose Faulkner

U12 Division
1 – Max Elkington
2 – Angelo Faulkner
3 – Karl Steen
4 – York Van Jaarsveld

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *