30 July, 2012 30 July, 2012

Border Clinches Sixth Consecutive SA Masters Title

The Foot went to town on New Pier’s rippable bowls, winning the SA Masters title and helping Border claim their 6th consecutive SA Masters title.

The fun bowls of New Pier played host to the SA Masters Surfing Champs, which took place from the 26 – 29 July, with Border claiming their sixth consecutive SA Masters title.

Former ASP World Tour campaigner Greg Emslie has added the SA Masters title to his three SA Champs titles, helping steer the Border team to victory. Emslie powered through in the final minutes of the final, beating Gary Van Wierengen (SKZN), Justin Maisch (SKZN) and Mike Frew (KZN) respectively to clinch the title.

Border teammate Tyrell Johnson took out the Senior title ahead of Lyle Bottcher (KZN), Neil Zietsman (WP) and his brother Jethro Johnson (Bor) further adding to Border’s dominance.

Tasha Mentasti out-surfed former world masters champ Heather Clarke to win the SA Masters title.

Tasha Mentasti, formerly of Durban North, but now surfing for Border claimed the Women’s division, beating defending champion Heather Clark (SKZN), Bianca Bosman (Border) and Julia Rutherford (Zul).

In the highly competitive Grand Kahuna’s division KZN’s Chris Knutsen claimed yet another SA Masters title, adding to his three ASP World Masters titles.

Other division winners included Mark Wright (Kahunas), Leonard Giles (Veterans) & Warren Dixon (Grand Masters)


SA Masters Cup
1. Border 34110
2. KZN Central 30863
3. Zululand 24638
4. Western Province 23586
5. Southern KZN 20796
6. Boland 20488
7. Eastern Province 17254
8. Southern Cape 9856

Women (Over 30)
1. Tasha Mentasti (Boland)
2. Heather Clark (SKZN)
3. Bianca Bosman (Border)
4. Julia Rutherford (Zululand)

Senior Men (Over 30)
1. Tyrell Johnson (Border)
2. Lyle Bottcher (KZNC)
3. Jethro Johnson (Border)
4. Neil Zietsman (WP)

Masters (Over 35)
1. Greg Emslie (Border)
2. Gary Van Wieringen (SKZN)
3. Justin Maisch (SKZN)
4. Mike Frew (Zululand)

Grand Masters (Over 40)
1. Warren Dixon (KZNC)
2. Andre Malherbe (Border)
3. Andrew Fiebiger (Border)
4. Wayne Monk (Border)

Kahunas (Over 45)
1. Marc Wright (KZNC)
2. David Malherbe (Border)
3. Colin Buitendag (SC)
4. Richard Heath (Boland)

Grand Kahunas (Over 50)
1. Chris Knutsen (KZNC)
2. Judge Olivier (KZNC)
3. Dave Fish (Border)
4. Fred Le Roux (Zululand)

Veterans (Over 55)
1. Leonard Giles (Southern Cape)
2. Calla Esterhuysen (Zululand)
3. Brian Heathcote (Border)
4. Gordon Harmer (Border)

Visit www.surfingsouthafrica.co.za for the full press release and more images.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *