24 August, 2012 24 August, 2012

Billabong Pro Tahiti Calls Lay Day, Swell Forecast for the Weekend

Kieren Perrow (AUS), 35, will take on Adriano de Souza (BRA), 25, in Round 3 of the Billabong Pro Tahiti when competition resumes.

TEAHUPO’O, Taiarapu/Tahiti (Thursday, August 23, 2012) – With an eye on a building system at the end of the waiting period, and only small surf on offer today, event organizers at the Billabong Pro Tahiti have called competition off for the day.

Event No. 5 of 10 on the 2012 ASP World Championship Tour, the Billabong Pro Tahiti completed the opening two rounds of competition in the opening two days of the waiting period, but has since been in a holding pattern. Current forecast models suggest that the event will have the best opportunity to run in the last two days of the waiting period.

“Smaller than yesterday out there this morning so we’ve called competition off for the day,” Rich Porta, ASP International Head Judge, said. “We don’t anticipate much to fill in until mid-to-late Saturday, but will be back tomorrow morning to make another assessment at that time.”

Event organizers will reconvene tomorrow morning at 6:30am to assess conditions for a possible 7am start.

Surfline, official forecasters for the Billabong Pro Tahiti, are calling for minor swell mix to continue today with a modest pick up of mixed southerly swell tomorrow. A medium size SW ground swell will move for the end of the waiting period, strongest on Sunday, with an even larger south swell now looking likely for Monday. Trades will increase on Thursday and are strong Friday through Monday.

When competition resumes, up first will be two-time ASP World Champion and current ASP WCT No. 1 Mick Fanning (AUS), 31, up against Fredrick Patacchia (HAW), 30, in the opening heat of Round 3.

Highlights from the Billabong Pro Tahiti will be available via http://www.billabongpro.com

Heat 1: Mick Fanning (AUS) vs. Fredrick Patacchia (HAW)
Heat 2: Julian Wilson (AUS) vs. Adrian Buchan (AUS)
Heat 3: Taj Burrow (AUS) vs. Kai Ottonn (AUS)
Heat 4: Owen Wright (AUS) vs. Miguel Pupo (BRA)
Heat 5: C.J. Hobgood (USA) vs. Michel Bourez (PYF)
Heat 6: Kelly Slater (USA) vs. Ricardo dos Santos (BRA)
Heat 7: Joel Parkinson (AUS) vs. Taylor Knox (USA)
Heat 8: Jeremy Flores (FRA) vs. Heitor Alves (BRA)
Heat 9: Josh Kerr (AUS) vs. Damien Hobgood (USA)
Heat 10: John John Florence (HAW) vs. Brett Simpson (USA)
Heat 11: Gabriel Medina (BRA) vs. Alejo Muniz (BRA)
Heat 12: Adriano de Souza (BRA) vs. Kieren Perrow (AUS)

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *