12 February, 2016 12 February, 2016

Best of SA surf clubs to compete at the 2016 Billabong SA Interclub Championships

12 of South Africa’s top surf clubs are on their way to Cape St. Francis to compete in the Billabong SA Inter-Club Champs. Apart from the usual suspects, watch out for the inaugral appearance of up-country, crimewave surfers, the Johannesburg Boardrider’s Club and new KZN grass roots movement, Sisonke Surf Club, who along with all the usual suspects will be aiming to put the defending champions Seal Point Boardriders Club to the sword on their home surf. Gonna be a fun weekend. Looking forward to a good clean fight, keep it real boys and girls. Whoop!

For further details see press release below.

Alvin new
Sisonke surf club from Durban en route to compete in the SA interclub championships.

JHB interclub new
Joburg Boardriders “Training camp”.

Press Release
2016 Billabong South African Interclub Championships supported by the Department of Sport and Recreation South Africa
Seal Point, Cape St Francis
Saturday & Sunday February 13th & 14th

image002 copy

Seal Point to host the 2016 Billabong South African Interclub Championships this weekend.

Eighteen teams representing twelve surf clubs from all parts of South Africa will be in action at Seal Point in Cape St Francis this weekend at the fifth annual Billabong SA Interclub Championships and this year history will be made when a club based in Gauteng competes in the tournament for the very first time.

The Joburg Boardriders Club is the brainchild of Braamfontein pastor Nathan Gernetzky and he is excited to creating surfing history. The team’s number one seed is Fourways-based plumber Shane Warren who spent eight years on the WSL World Qualifying Series Tour and was a top provincial surfer who represented KZN in a number of National Championships. Lifelong friends Kevin Trevaskis and Byron Loker—who learned to surf together in the waters of Muizenberg, fellow Capetonian Dominic Barnardt and SA Masters Champion Tasha Mentasti make up the balance of the team.

The Billabong SA Interclub Championships a national Surfing South Africa tournament which is supported by the Department of Sport and Recreation South Africa and hosted for the first time by the Seal Point Boardriders Surf Club who won the tournament at Kitchen Windows in Jeffreys Bay last February.

In winning the 2015 Interclub the Seal Point Boardriders earned the right to not only chose their “stadium” for this year contest but were also entitled to enter two teams into the two day clash.

The Eastern Cape is well represented by a total of nine surf clubs. These are made up of 2016 hosts Seal Point Boardriders, last year’s hosts the JBU, the J Bay Boardriders, the 2013 champions, the J Bay Surf Club, the powerful CYOH Surf Club and fellow Port Elizabeth clubs Sunset, the oldest surf club in South Africa, Gravitas Surf Club and the Madibaz Surf Club from NMMU. The Kowie Boardriders Club from Port Alfred will be joining their Eastern Cape counterparts at the event.

2012 hosts, the well organized West Coast Boardriders Club will be joined by fellow Western Cape surf clubs SWOT, Share the Stoke, 9 Miles Surf Club and Maties from Stellenbosch University. The recently established Sisonke Surf Club will make the long journey to Seal Point to compete in the Interclub for the first time

The 2016 Billabong SA Interclub Championships will use the Aloha Cup “tag” format which sees teams of four men and one woman competing against each in a 50 minute heat. All the points scored by each of the surfers count towards the final team score.

Although competition will be fierce in the water, the annual Interclub Championships is an extremely social affair once the heats are over. With this in mind clubs will get together for an informal opening function at Stix in Cape St Francis at 7pm on Friday night. All participants at the event are welcome to enjoy the Billabong sponsored snacks and the live band at this popular venue

Grant Beck, the Billabong Team & Events Manager is looking forward to the tournament. “ We are amped to support the 2016 Billabong Interclub Championships. This event offers surf clubs from all parts of South Africa the opportunity to get together with fellow competitors, friends and family. It is great to partner with Surfing South Africa and the Department of Sport and Recreation South Africa and we look forward to staying involved in club surfing well into the future”.

Teams will meet at Seal Point at 7.45 am on Saturday for the official briefing and the contest will start at 8.30am.

The heats and the format are available on the Surfing South Africa website www.surfingsouthafrica.co.za.

The 2016 Billabong SA Interclub Championships will be fueled by Red Bull.

Surfing South Africa is a member of the SA Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and the International Surfing Association (ISA). SSA is the recognized governing body for all surf riding in South Africa and is recognized as such by the Department of Sport and Recreation South Africa.

2015 Billabong Interclub Champions – Seal Point Boardriders Club

Compiled by
Robin de Kock
General Manager
Surfing South Africa
For all media info contact 0824541149 or surfingsouthafrica@gmail.com

0012__#$!@%!#__0 3__#$!@%!#__0

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *