6 February, 2015 6 February, 2015

2015 SA Junior Surfing Team Announced

It’s never an easy decision picking a team to represent South Africa at an international surfing event, because Mzansi is literally loaded with surfing talent. But team sizes are set for ISA events and only 12 of the best can go on to represent their country at the ISA World Junior Surfing Championships.

Joshe Faulkner was a standout at the 2014 ISA World Junior Surfing Championships.

Following a three day selection camp down the KZN South Coast during which 28 of SA’s brightest young surfing talents had a chance to show their stuff, the South African Junior Surfing Team has been chosen. They are:


Under 18 Boys: Michael Monk; Shane Sykes; Matt McGillivray; Ntando Msibi; Richard Kidd (non travelling reserve)

Under 18 Girls: Teal Hogg; Chanelle Botha; Crystal Hulett (non travelling reserve)

Under 16 Boys: Adin Masencamp; Joshe Faulkner; Koby Oberholzer; Sebastian Williams; Luke Malherbe (non travelling reserve)

Under 16 Girls: Sophie Bell; Olivia Izzard; Zoe Smith (non travelling reserve)

This year’s ISA World Surfing Championships take place in California from 11 – 18 October, and we’ll be showing our support as they battle it out to bring home the Gold.

Check out the press release below for more details.



The Board of Directors of Surfing South Africa has named the members of the South African Junior Surfing Team who will represent the country at the 2015 ISA World Junior Surfing Championships.

The event is scheduled to take place at Oceanside in California, USA from October 11th to 18th.

Sebastian Williams is an internationally recognised talent and will be representing SA.

The team is made up of four Under 18 and four Under 16 Boys and two Under 18 and two Under 16 Girls with a non travelling reserve selected in each of the divisions. The 2015 SA Junior Team was selected from the SA Junior Squad who spent three days at an intense selection camp in Southern KZN last weekend. The camp was made possible thanks to support from the SA Surfing Legends, who not only sponsored the flights and travel for the participants, but also arranged vans through AVIS and accommodation at the Desroches Hotel in Margate. In addition a large contingent of SA Surfing Legends attended the camp to watch the juniors in action.

The four Under 18 Boys are current SA Under 17 champion and new cap Michael Monk of East London, experienced campaigner Shane Sykes of Salt Rock, a three cap veteran, former SA Under 17 Champion, Matthew McGillivray of Jeffreys Bay and 2015 ISA Scholarship recipient, Ntando Msibi of Durban. Both McGillivray and Msibi win their second caps. Richard Kidd of Ballito is the non travelling reserve for this group.

2014 South African Under 15 Champion, Adin Masencamp of the Strand, earns a second cap in the Under 16 division as does another ISA Scholarship recipient, Joshe Faulkner of Jeffrey’s Bay. Faulkner’s 6th place in Ecuador last year was the highest by a South African at the 2014 ISA World Junior Championships. New caps Koby Oberholzer of Warner Beach and Sebastian Williams of Jeffreys Bay are the other two Under 16 surfers in the team while Luke Malherbe of East London is the non travelling reserve.

The squad was all ears during the selection camp down the KZN south coast last weekend.

Two time Under 17 SA Champion Teal Hogg of Umhlanga will attend her second ISA World Junior Championship along with Chanelle Botha of Warner Beach who, with four caps under her belt, is the most experienced surfer in this team. Crystal Hulett of Cape St Francis is the non travelling reserve for the Under 18 Girls group.

SA Under 15 Champion Sophie Bell of Salt Rock and Olivia Izzard of La Lucia are the two Under 16 Girls included in the team. Zoe Smith of Jeffrey’s Bay is the non travelling reserve.

Isaac February of Cape Town is the Team Manager, Surfing South Africa Coaching Director, Greg Emslie of East London is the Head Coach and David Malherbe of Coffee Bay is the Assistant Coach.

The International Surfing Association expects over countries to make their way to Southern California in October to compete in the 12th ISA World Junior Championships which were first held in Durban in 2003.

The USA last hosted a World Junior Surfing Championships in 2005. The annual tournament determines the World Junior Team Champions and medalists in the Under 18 Boys and Girls and Under 16 Boys and Girls divisions.

Surfing South Africa is the recognized governing body for the sport and is a member of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and the International Surfing Association (ISA). All South African surfing teams that participate in international events are ratified by the Board of Directors of Surfing South Africa.


  1. Kevin
    6 February, 2015 at 7:54 am · Reply

    On paper that’s a quality team capable of Gold. In reality California will be 1-foot dribble and the most aggressive, wave hungry team will probably win. Have to teach these groms how to fight for waves but that’s not really the Saffa way, in my opinion.

  2. Brian
    6 February, 2015 at 12:02 pm · Reply

    Yeah agreed Kevin ….Cali will no doubt dish out sucky 1 foot onshore….bring them here to train -old PE …the mac daddy of pap waves.

    Well done Matty Mac on making the team.The groms need some MDK spirit going….dog eat dog stuff.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *