14 May, 2014 14 May, 2014

2014 SA Masters Champs Makes History

An army of SA’s best surfing Masters have assembled with their provincial teams in East London. They’re in Slummies for the 2014 South African Masters Surfing Champs, and this year the event is set to make history as being the first national tournament to be broadcast live.

Last year’s runner-up in the Seniors, Tyrell Johnson, will be looking to go one better in home waters.

The action kicks-off tomorrow (Thursday, 15 May) at Nahoon Reef with the early rounds that unfortunately won’t feature on the webcast, but once the action really heats-up on Day 2, then you’ll be able to watch the Masters rip into some meaty Nahoon walls on www.streamit360.tv from noon on Friday.

Having won seven straight SA Masters team titles, host province Border will be favourites to once again lift the SA Masters Cup – but you can bet your board on the fact that the other six provinces will be looking to perform at their best to make sure that doesn’t happen.

Check out the official press release below.



Reigning SA and World Masters champ, Greg Emslie, is one of the Border team’s top guns.

Surfing South Africa has announced that for the first time ever at a National tournament, real time surfing action will be streamed live from the 2014 Cool Shoe SA Masters Surfing Championships.

The event kicks off with an Opening Function at the Nahoon Lifesavers Club at Nahoon Beach at 7pm on Wednesday with the first rounds of competition starting at 8am on Thursday 15 May and the finals held on Saturday 17 May.

The live surfing will be available for viewing via the internet on www.streamit360.tv In order to watch the live action from Nahoon Reef click the link and activate the SURFING button on the page. The Cool Shoe SA Masters Surfing Championships will be streamed live from noon on Friday 16 May and will include all the finals which will be held on Saturday.

The SA Masters Surfing Championships always produces the highest quality surfing and with 4 – 6 foot perfect offshore conditions predicted for Friday and Saturday this year’s event looks set to be a cracker.

Two current World Champions, Greg Emslie (Border) and Chris Knutsen (KZN Central), two former World Champions, Andrew Banks (Zululand) and Heather Clark (Southern KZN), plus 18 surfers who have represented South Africa in international competition and a host of provincial and South African champions will be in action at the 2014 Cool Shoe South African Masters Championships.

In addition all seven age group champions from last year’s event in Mossel Bay have been included in their respective provincial teams. Greg Emslie won both the World and South African Masters (Over 35) titles last year; Llewellyn Whittaker (Southern Cape) won the Senior Men’s (O30) title; Wayne Monk (Border) won the Grandmasters (O40) Division; Gareth Sepp (Border) took honours in the Kahunas (O45) Division; Robin Lavery (Zululand) was the 2013 Grandkahunas (O50) champion in Mossel Bay; Hans Kamhoot (WP) won the Veterans (O55) title and former two time World Masters Champion Heather Clark (Southern KZN) was crowned the SA Masters Champion in the Women’s Division.

Hosts Border, the defending champions and seven time winners of the Masters Cup, which is awarded to the top provincial team at the event, have put together a star studded side for this year’s 10th edition of the South African Masters Championships and will be hard to beat at their home break.

Anything can happen over the three days of competition and Border will face tough competition from 2013 runners up Western Province, neighbours Eastern Province and 2015 Masters Championships hosts Zululand. The other provincial teams are from KZN Central, Southern Cape and Southern KZN.

The 2014 Cool Shoe SA Masters Championships will decide seven individual champions and determine the top Provincial team. Each team member’s points will count towards the Masters Cup, which was won by Southern KZN in 2005 and 2006 and by Border from 2007 to 2013.

Heats and the provisional format are posted on www.surfingsouthafrica.co.za and each day’s results will be available from 8pm.


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *