18 December, 2012 18 December, 2012

2012 Surfing South Africa PST winners announced

Greg Emslie successfully defended his PST crown.

The 2012 Surfing South Africa Pro Surf Tour (PST) concluded on the weekend and the following surfers headed the rankings:

Greg Emslie of East London successfully defended the Men’s Pro Surf Tour title and takes the top spot for the third year in a row. Two Durban surfers, Dan Redman and Chad du Toit, were second and third respectively.

Nikita Robb of East London and Chantelle Rautenbach of Melkbosstrand tied for first place in the Women’s division with Heather Clark of Port Shepstone placing third.

SA Champion Michael February of Kommetjie beat Dylan Lightfoot of Jeffreys Bay and David Van Zyl of Durban into second and third respectively to take the Under 20 Boys PST title while Tanika Hoffman of Cape Town headed up the Under 20 Girl’s PST ratings. Heidi Palmboom of the Bluff was second and Emma Smith of Jeffreys Bay came third.

Talented Matt McGillivray of Jeffreys Bay won the U16 Boys title, Steff Burrows of Stellenbosch was second and Adin Masencamp of the Strand placed third.

In the U16 Girl’s division Tahra Uren of Jeffrey’s Bay edged out Anoush Zakarian of Melkbosstrand with Britney Linder of Port Elizabeth placing third.

The Under 14 Boys champion is Adin Masencamp, Don Wichmann of Marina Da Gama was second and Koby Oberholzer of Warner Beach came third.

Oberholzer tied with Max Elkington of Kommetjie in the Under 12 Boys division and Angelo Faulkner of Jeffreys Bay placed third.

The Pro Surf Tour is made up of events that offer prize money and are sanctioned by Surfing South Africa.

Surfing South Africa (SSA) is the recognized governing body for the sport and is a member of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC). SSA is affiliated to the International Surfing association (ISA), the world governing body for the sport.


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *