3 July, 2014 3 July, 2014

The Glory Days

So far we’ve witnessed three days of surfing spectacle at this year’s Mr Price Pro, with aerial acrobatics appearing to be the high-scoring weapon of choice. But while some of the world’s top contenders are still in contention for the number one spot, and the glory that goes with it, all the SA hopefuls have been eliminated.

Jordy’s last gasp 9.2 scoring punt was not enough in Round 2.

In light of this downer, we’re going to throw you back to greener pastures, when three South Africans; Jordy Smith, Ricky Basnett and Shaun Tomson (who won the event when it was still called the Gunston 500), surfed their way to victory in 2010, 2006 and 1978 respectively.

(click on articles to view larger version)

Shaun Tomson beat a formidable pool of Internationals to claim his sixth consecutive victory at the 1978 Gunston 500, which was contested in Nahoon, East London.

Ricky Basnett brought home the bacon in 2006 to make history as the first South African to win the event since Shaun Tomson.

Jordy Smith took out the event in 2010 and was leading the world rankings.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *